Upsilon Pi Epsilon honor society returns | University of Maryland Eastern Shore Marketing Retarget Pixel

Upsilon Pi Epsilon honor society returns

  • UMES' Delta chapter has 21 new members

    Thursday, March 14, 2019

    The University of Maryland Eastern Shore has revived its international honor society chapter for students majoring in “the computing and information disciplines” after a six-year hiatus. 

    Twenty-one UMES students are now members of Upsilon Pi Epsilon following an induction ceremony held in conjunction with a jobs symposium that brought industry professionals to campus in early November. 

    UMES math and computer science department faculty organized a two-day celebration that featured panel discussions on resume writing and interviewing tips along with tips on searching for federal government job openings. 

    Dr. Urban Wiggins and Dr. Tiara Cornelius worked with the Association of Computing Machinery to bring in representatives from the U.S. Department of Defense, NASA, Veterans Affairs and the U.S. Air Force along with industry counterparts such as Capital One and Lockheed Martin to participate in “The Big Sell” event. 

    Calvin Mills, a chief executive officer of two tech companies and a 2018 honoree as one of Black Enterprise magazine's 100 Men of Distinction, was the keynote speaker. 

    Upsilon Pi Epsilon was founded in 1967 for students and faculty members “who exhibit scholastic and professional achievement in the computing science curriculum,” according to Wiggins and Cornelius. 

    Undergraduates must have 60 credit hours with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0. Graduate students need at least 15 credit hours and cumulative GPA of 3.5 to qualify for membership. 

    “All students are vetted by the department (faculty) and must receive approval,” Wiggins said. 

    UMES' Delta chapter members are: Hilda Agbre, Godfrey Agwaze, Daniel Akinsola, Morgan Branch, Chukwujekwu Oku, Andy Escobar, Timesha Frank, Daevon Greene, Bruce Houedenou, Ehigie Irabor, Emmanuel Isidahomen, Jamok Kim, Nikita Koene, Million Negewo, Chioma Nkpuechina, David Nwogu, Niyah Pack, Kevin Ringgold, Michael Simpson, Esther-Kyndia Tanyi and Samson Tsegaye.